fbpx

來自教育科技界的新聞

奈及利亞學生出國留學的趨勢

9月 4, 2019 | 教育科技

繼續我們關於主要輸出國國際學生簡介和資訊來源的系列文章,我們正在研究撒哈拉以南非洲的領導者——奈及利亞。

正如我們之前的博客文章「印度學生出國留學的趨勢」所指出的那樣,到 2050 年,撒哈拉以南非洲的人口估計將接近 25 億。這一增長的一個關鍵驅動力是奈及利亞。這個石油資源豐富的沿海國家將在未來幾十年內將其近2億人口增加一倍以上,到2050年將超過4億。即使是這樣的預測也可能是輕描淡寫的,因為一些專家注意到不斷擴大的基礎設施和經濟多樣性,認為它會更大。

奈及利亞的歷史為未來的預後提供了資訊。其歷史可以追溯到 11 世紀,由於幾內亞灣和肥沃的尼日三角洲的偶然位置,它成為區域貿易和農業中心,吸引了來自數千英里之外的各種各樣的商人和企業家。從19世紀初英國殖民到20世紀中葉奈及利亞獨立,商務工作愈演愈烈,直到現在,該國被公認為世界第20大經濟體。這一區別使奈及利亞成為非洲最大的經濟體,這是它在 2010 年代初從南非手中奪取的頭銜。

為了滿足一個不斷發展的國家的需求,穆罕默杜·布哈裡總統自2015年上任以來,一直試圖將教育作為優先事項。因此,由300多所高等教育機構(HEI)組成的學術部門的國家預算支出增加到每年超過10億美元。目前,每年有超過 90,000 名學生出國留學,其中大量學生前往英國(約 30,000 人)和美國(約 20,000 人,加利福尼亞州、紐約和馬里蘭州是最常見的目的地)。

隨著人口的穩步增長,聯合國教科文組織預計,除了人口增長外,奈及利亞還將在出國留學的學生方面領先世界。甚至在取得這樣的成就之前,奈及利亞就為全球高等教育機構提供了一個機會,可以進一步使其國際學生群體多樣化。本博客將研究來自非洲國家的學生的學習行為和習慣趨勢的進一步關鍵。

來自奈及利亞的學生申請人的一般資料

為了確定來自奈及利亞的國際學生的一般情況,我們將研究基本因素,例如性別、年齡、錄取率和其他標準。為確保最相關的資訊,我們將僅包括 2016-2018 年提交的申請。在這些標準中,我們有 24 690 名獨特的申請人完成了 DreamApply 合作學校的申請。這裡需要注意的是,學生可以使用DreamApply申請多門課程,這些學生平均每名學生提交了32 155份申請,平均每名學生1.3份申請。

大多數來自奈及利亞的學生是男性——在 DreamApply 平臺上提交的所有表明性別的奈及利亞申請中,24.5% 是女性,75.5% 是男性。值得注意的是,奈及利亞女學生申請出國留學的比例正在緩慢上升——2016年為20%;2018年,這一比例上升到25.5%。

在申請的24 690名學生中,只有2145人收到了錄取通知書,轉化率僅為8%。收到錄取通知書的女性比例從2016年的18.9%增加到2018年的24.44%。因此,男性和女性的轉化率差異很小。

來自奈及利亞的申請人往往比印度等其他高容量國家年齡大。2018年,只有17.89%的學生年齡在21-25歲之間,23%的學生年齡在26-30歲之間,剩下的近60%的學生年齡在30歲以上。數據顯示,年齡繼續呈上升趨勢——2016年,8.68% 的申請人年齡在 17-20 歲之間,而 2018 年這一比例僅為 2.83%。

在選定的時間範圍內,來自奈及利亞的申請者中有 38.5% 申請了學士學位,45.33% 申請了碩士級別,7.10% 申請了博士學位。數據顯示,申請碩士課程的申請者有所增加——2016年,41,2% 的申請者申請了碩士課程;2018年,這一比例增長到52.6%。

研究區域

我們也有興趣瞭解奈及利亞學生最喜歡哪些課程。為了得出這個結論,我們檢查了 DreamApply 系統中的所有課程,並根據主要主題對它們進行了分組(之所以如此簡潔,是因為整個 DreamApply 提供的課程數量驚人)。我們從 2018 年選擇了 8629 名申請人,並按研究物件分配了內涵。

雖然奈及利亞申請人申請的研究科目多種多樣,但最受歡迎的是工程學,有近三分之一的申請者。另外,管理和公共管理很受歡迎,絕對是#2和#3,但它們落後於工程學,所有其他課程都落後於這三個課程。

信息管道

大多數使用 DreamApply 的大學都強制要求申請人選擇他們的主要資訊管道,表明他們從哪裡獲得有關出國留學的資訊。通過結合所有申請學生的資訊管道,我們可以確定總體趨勢並衡量變化。我們感興趣的是,這些數據是否可以為印度學生提供資訊管道的答案。

我們分析了 2016 年至 2018 年間 8390 名學生的樣本,並將他們分為主要類別:

信源 描述
廣告 看板、報紙、網路橫幅、行銷講義等上的廣告
代理 代理人、個人顧問等
公平 教育博覽會
國家入口網站 旨在營銷整個國家的集中行銷入口網站
在線 一般自然搜索,Google,Bing等
其他 其他地方未列出的任何其他管道,例如國別訪問等
門戶 指定的教育入口網站,如StudyPortal、Masterstudies等
排名 對網站和清單進行排名
建議 朋友、家人、校友等的推薦
學校參觀 在當地舉辦資訊發佈會,參觀招聘
申請人所在學校的教職員工等
社交媒體 社交媒體網站,如Facebook、Twitter等
網站 大學網站

我們可以看到,個人推薦在學習選擇中起著重要作用。然而,它以各種在線管道為首——在線搜索、大學網站、各種入口網站和社交媒體,因為資訊來源占申請者的 50%。可以說,可以添加廣告,因為列出的大多數廣告都是各種在線活動。另外,學校參觀、教育展覽會以及與大學行銷人員的其他面對面互動起著相對次要的作用。同樣有趣的是,各種入口網站(致力於向學生介紹全球學習機會和旨在營銷整個國家的各種國家入口網站)是必不可少的學校工具,總計 13%。

雖然擁有強大的在線形象和個人推薦保持了其作為引起奈及利亞學生興趣的卓越渠道的優勢,但入口網站已變得至關重要。在過去三年中,雖然在線和推薦有所下降,但入口網站已經從幾乎不存在上升到負責十分之一的應用程式。此外,社交媒體也經歷了類似的激增,儘管規模較小,成為奈及利亞招聘不可或缺的資源。然而,值得注意的是,特定的社交媒體管道是需要考慮的重要因素,因為奈拉蘭產生的結果比Facebook多,這可能歸因於學校在相關網站上搜索時廣告的增加。關於這個因素,重要的是要注意,自然和付費搜尋引擎的結果落後於專業網站(這加強了入口網站的增長)。招聘代理始終在 6-7% 的範圍內交付,採用更保守和穩定的方法。

以下是本文的主要內容:

  • 隨著在線渠道發揮越來越大的作用,請確保您的網站和在線行銷符合要求。關於奈及利亞學生的各種網站之間存在共生關係。您必須盡可能提供最好的數位表示才能獲得最優秀的學生。
  • 奈及利亞學生的錄取率為8%,遠低於平均水準(我們的數據顯示,平均轉化率徘徊在25%以上)。有很多申請者,但只有少數人被錄取。由於申請者的數量已經相當可觀且不斷增加,因此必須檢查您的錄取過程,以確保您能夠有效地選擇和提供最佳申請人。
  • 在國際學生專用入口網站和國家入口網站中檢查您的存在。總體而言,入口網站在奈及利亞學生中很受歡迎並帶來了成果。

總之——從奈及利亞學生的申請數量、整體趨勢和入學率來看,很明顯,奈及利亞學生的申請不僅是招生部門的固定內容,而且將繼續增長。因此,採用良好的策略來處理申請並在適當的管道和正確的目標群體中推廣您的課程的重要性不容低估。快速提供有前途的學生通常是必不可少的,在奈及利亞市場,這是必要的。在 DreamApply,我們擁有十多年的經驗、知識和數據,我們可以將其應用於改進您在奈及利亞和其他任何地方的戰略。

最新教育科技新聞

更多案例研究

fbpx

News from the EdTech scene

Trends for Nigerian students studying abroad

Sep 4, 2019 | EdTech

Continuing our series of articles regarding profiles and information sources for international students from major sending countries, we’re looking at the leader in Sub-Saharan Africa – Nigeria.

As our earlier blog entry, “Trends for Indian students studying abroad” noted, Sub-Saharan Africa’s population is estimated to be nearly 2.5 billion by 2050. A key driver in this growth is Nigeria. The oil-rich coastal nation will see its nearly 200 million population more than double in the coming decades, topping 400 million by 2050. Even such a projection may be an understatement as some experts, noting expanding infrastructure and economic diversity, believe it will be even greater.

The history of Nigeria informs the future prognosis. Dating back to the 11th century, due to the fortuitous location on the Gulf of Guinea and fertile Niger Delta, it became a regional hub for trade and agriculture, drawing in a vastly diverse collection of traders and entrepreneurs from thousands of miles away. The commerce activity intensified following the colonization by the British in the early 19th century through Nigerian independence in the mid-20th century, and to the present, where the country is recognized as the world’s 20th largest economy. This distinction makes Nigeria the largest economy in Africa, a title it wrested from South Africa at the onset of the 2010s.

To address the needs of a growing nation, President Muhammadu Buhari, since taking office in 2015, has sought to make education a priority. As such, the national budget has seen an increase in spending to over $1 billion annually for the academic sector consisting of over 300 Higher Education Institutions (HEIs). Currently, over 90,000 students study abroad a year, with a substantial amount going to the UK (approximately 30,000) and the USA (approximately 20,000, with California, New York, and Maryland being the most common destinations).

With the steadily increasing population, UNESCO projects that Nigeria will lead the world in students studying abroad in addition to its population growth. Even before such an achievement is reached, Nigeria represents an opportunity for HEIs worldwide to diversify their international student population further. This blog will examine the further keys to trends within the study behavior and habits of students from the African country.

The general profile of a student applicant from Nigeria

To determine the general profile of an international student from Nigeria, we’ll look at basic factors, such as gender, age, acceptance rate, and other criteria. To ensure the most relevant information, we’ll include only submitted applications from 2016-2018. Within these criteria, we have a population of 24 690 unique applicants who completed their applications for a DreamApply partner school. It is important here to note that students can use DreamApply to apply to more than one course with a single application, those students sent in 32 155 applications, 1.3 applications, on average, per student.

Most students from Nigeria are males – out of all submitted Nigerian applications in the DreamApply platform who have indicated their gender, 24.5% are females, and 75.5% are males. It’s worth noting that the ratio of female Nigerian students applying to study abroad is slowly rising – in 2016, it was 20%; in 2018, it rose to 25.5%.

Out of 24 690 students who applied, only 2145 received some notice of admission, a meager 8% conversion rate. The share of females who received an offer has increased from 18.9% in 2016 to 24.44% in 2018. Thus, there is very little difference between the conversion rates of males and females.

Applicants from Nigeria tend to be older than other high-volume countries like India. In 2018, only 17.89% of students were aged between 21-25 years, while 23% were between 26-30 years, and nearly 60% remaining were over 30. The data indicates a continued trend further upward in age – In 2016, 8.68% of applicants were 17-20 years old compared to only 2.83% in that demographic in 2018.

Across the selected timeframe, 38.5% of applicants from Nigeria applied to the bachelor level, 45,33% to the MA level, and 7.10% to the Ph.D. level. The data indicates growth in applicants applying to master-level studies – In 2016, 41,2% of applicants applied to MA-level courses; in 2018, this grew to 52.6%.

Study areas

We also were interested to see which courses Nigerian students apply to most. To reach this conclusion, we examined all the courses in the DreamApply systems and grouped them according to the major subject (this brevity was done as the number of courses offered throughout the entire DreamApply is staggering). We selected 8629 applicants from 2018 and assigned denotation by study subject.

While the study subjects to which Nigerian applicants apply are diverse, the most popular is engineering, with almost a third of applicants. Alternatively, Management and Public Administration are popular, definitively #2 and #3, but they trail behind Engineering by a noteworthy amount—all other courses slot in behind these three.

Information channels

Most universities using DreamApply have made it mandatory for applicants to choose their main information channels indicating where they received information about studying abroad. By combining information channels across all students who have applied, we can determine general trends and measure changes. We were interested if this data could give us answers on top of information channels for Indian students.

We analyzed a sample of 8390 students between 2016 and 2018 and divided them into main categories:

Information source Description
Advertisement Advertisements on billboards, newspapers, web banners, marketing handouts, etc
Agent Agents, personal counselors, etc
Fair Education fairs
National portal Centralized marketing portals aimed at marketing the country as a whole
Online General organic searches, Google, Bing, etc
Other Any other channel not listed elsewhere, such as  country visits, etc
Portal Designated education portals such as StudyPortal, Masterstudies, etc
Ranking Ranking sites and -lists
Recommendations Recommendations by friends, family, alumni, etc
School visits Locally held info sessions, visits to recruitment
staff in the applicant’s school etc
Social media Social media sites such as Facebook, Twitter, etc
Website University websites

We can see that personal recommendation plays a big role in study choices. However, it is topped by various online channels – online searching, university websites, various portals, and social media as information source accounts for 50% of applicants. Arguably, advertisements can be added to it, as most advertisements listed were various online campaigns. Alternatively, school visits, education fairs, and other face-to-face interactions with university marketers play a relatively minor role. It is also interesting to note that various portals (dedicated to informing students of global studying opportunities and various national portals aimed at marketing a country as a whole) are essential school tools, totaling 13%.

While having a strong, online presence and personal recommendations have maintained their edge as preeminent channels for generating interest with Nigerian students, web portals have become vital. In the past three years, while online and recommendations have declined, portals have risen from nearly non-existent to being responsible for one out of ten applications. Additionally, social media has experienced a similar, albeit smaller, surge in becoming an indispensable resource for recruiting in Nigeria. However, it is worth noting that the specific social media channel is important to consider as Nairaland generates more results than Facebook, which can be attributable to the uptick in advertisements as schools are homing in on the relevant websites. With regard to this factor, it’s important to note that organic and paid search engine results are trailing behind specialized websites (which reinforces the growth of portals). Recruiting agents have delivered consistently in the 6-7% range for a more conservative and stable approach.

Here are the main takeaways from this article:

  • As online channels play an increasing role, ensure your website and online marketing are up to scratch. There is a symbiotic relationship between the various websites regarding students from Nigeria. You must present the best digital representation possible to get the best students.
  • The admission rate of Nigerian students at 8% is far below the average (our data shows that the average conversion rate hovers somewhere over 25%). There are a lot of applicants, but only a few of them get accepted. With an already considerable and increasing number of applicants, it is imperative to check your admission process to ensure your ability to select and offer the best applicants efficiently.
  • Check your presence in both dedicated portals for international students and national portals. Portals, overall, enjoy popularity among Nigerian students and brings results.

In conclusion – looking at the application numbers, overall trends, and enrolment rate of Nigerian students, it is evident that applications by Nigerian students are not only a fixture for admission departments but will continue to grow. As such, the importance of employing a good strategy to both process applications and promote your courses in the proper channels and with the right target group cannot be understated. It’s generally essential to offer promising students quickly, in the Nigerian market, it is requisite. Here at DreamApply, we have over a decade of experience, knowledge, and data that we can apply to improve your strategies both in Nigeria and anywhere else.

Latest EdTech news

The value of CRM for higher education in 2024

CRM for higher education is one of the most effective solutions to enhance student engagement, streamline administrative processes and improve enrollment rates. In this article, we’ll explore how CRM systems like DreamApply can achieve these results. What is...

More case studies

Request a demo - Popup

Don't miss an opportunity to enroll 30% more students or spend 40% less time on managing applications. Book a free consultation to learn how.

DreamApply does not manage its admissions or scholarships

Please get in touch with the respective universities directly if you are a student/applicant. You will get no reply from us.

DreamApply is a software company that provides universities with a student admission management system. 

We wish you good luck with your applications!