fbpx

來自教育科技界的新聞

來自 EdTech 和 Pancakes 的見解:高等教育國際化的協定

3月 18, 2024 | 教育科技

在「教育科技與煎餅」的第6集中,我們邀請了塞巴斯蒂安·布魯克(Sebastián Bruque)教授,他是高等教育國際化的著名宣導者和顧問,也是西班牙哈恩大學國際化的副校長。 

我們探討了大學國際化的基本支柱,包括學生和教職員工的流動性以及利用創新技術的方法。此外,我們還討論了民族主義運動帶來的挑戰和機遇、全球不同的招生制度以及技術(尤其是人工智慧)在改變招生過程中發揮的重要作用。 

高等教育國際化協定

國際教育的本質和目的是什麼? 

“甚至大學這個詞也來自'普遍'。我們需要有同樣的全球視野,因為知識應該適用於整個人類,「布魯克教授說」。他提醒我們,國際教育本質上是由國際經濟推動的,國際經濟在幾個世紀以來塑造了高等教育的結構。他補充說:「特別是歐洲大陸的國家需要重新考慮他們的國際申請系統,因為在許多情況下,他們正在失去成千上萬的國際學生,這些學生非常有才華,可以為地方和國家經濟提供價值。 

教育國際化的歷史和政治 

教育國際化的旅程不僅是學術和經濟雄心的敘述,也是世界不斷變化的政治格局的反映。布魯克教授指出,「直到八十年代末,經濟和國際政治的動態是兩極分化的,一邊是蘇聯集團,另一邊是自由的西方民主國家。因此,一切都在八十年代和九十年代發生了重大變化。 

大學國際化的支柱是什麼? 

在討論大學國際化的關鍵方面時,布魯克教授闡明瞭這一過程必不可少的三個基本支柱:學生流動、員工國際化和技術的重要作用。 

學生流動 

第一個支柱,學生流動,被強調為國際教育的基石。“學生的行動自由......是我們擁有的最重要的因素,「布魯克教授指出,並強調了物理和在線移動性在創造真正的全球教育環境方面的本質。這種流動性不僅在於跨越地理界限,還在於促進文化、思想和知識的交流,豐富了所有相關人員的學習體驗。 

員工國際化 

第二個支柱是員工的國際化,與學生的流動相輔相成。引入來自不同背景和專業知識的教師增加了課程和教學方法的深度,向學生介紹了廣泛的觀點和實踐。員工之間的這種多樣性對於旨在提供新知識、實踐和技術見解的機構至關重要,從而豐富了大學的學術和社會結構。 

技術集成 

最後,技術作為第三大支柱的作用怎麼強調都不為過。技術進步和在線學習平臺的整合正在重塑高等教育的格局。“移動性、國際移動性和在線移動性應該與先進的技術工具一起塑造和完善,”布魯克教授解釋說。這種方法不僅使教育更容易獲得,而且使機構能夠提供更加個人化和引人入勝的學習體驗,讓學生為數位熟練程度至關重要的未來做好準備。 

民族主義運動是高等教育國際化的障礙 

布魯克博士補充說,民族主義和反全球化運動是影響國際教育格局的另一個重要因素,並對全球教育機會構成挑戰。隨著這些運動的勢頭越來越大,世界各地的大學都面臨著駕馭這些複雜動態的挑戰,努力保持國際視野,同時解決當地的關切和敏感問題。 

集中式與分散式招生系統 

正如Bruque教授所討論的那樣,高等教育國際化的關鍵因素之一是集中式和分散式招生系統之間的對比。這種區別在大學如何吸引國際學生和駕馭複雜的全球教育格局方面發揮著關鍵作用。 

在歐洲大陸國家經常發現的集中招生系統將重大控制權掌握在國家當局手中。雖然使用國家系統有優勢,但由於嚴格的考試要求和錄取過程的靈活性有限,它們通常會給國際學生帶來重大障礙。另一方面,分散的系統通常賦予大學制定招生策略的自主權,從而提供更大的適應性來吸引多元化的學生群體。 

布魯克教授指出,「國際化對於高等教育機構的生存是絕對必要的」。這種生存與機構如何有效地適應國際學生群體的需求有著錯綜複雜的聯繫,而集中式系統可能會因其固有的殭化而阻礙這一點。 

技術創新對教育國際化的作用:3類障礙 

Bruque教授認為,創新在教育國際化中起著至關重要的作用。然而,有三組主要障礙會阻礙這一過程: 

法律和監管障礙 

其中包括管理學生簽證和工作許可的國家法律和法規,這些法律和法規可能因國家而異,對國際學生構成重大挑戰。 

經濟和金融壁壘 

教育成本、生活費用和簽證申請的財務要求往往會讓潛在的國際學生望而卻步。這些經濟障礙在生活成本高的國家尤為明顯。 

技術和程序障礙 

該組包括與訪問和瀏覽國際大學招生系統相關的挑戰。布魯克教授指出,「技術和程式上的障礙......阻礙了許多國際學生瞭解許多國際大學的招生制度,從而阻礙了他們的入學能力。 

在分析進入壁壘時,Bruque博士透露,技術進步為尋求國際化的大學提供了最大的投資回報率 

人工智慧將如何影響高等教育的未來? 

根據Bruque博士的說法,人工智慧將徹底改變學生選擇課程和大學的方式,以及招生過程的設計。國際學生可能不再尋找學士或碩士學位,而是優先考慮更短、更專注的課程。從這個意義上說,人工智慧將從根本上影響教育模式的選擇,這將影響高等教育的其他方面。 

觀看 Sebastián Bruque 博士的 EdTech 和 Pancakes 的完整劇集

在 DreamApply 的網站、SpotifyiTunes 上收聽播客的音訊版本 

關於DreamApply 

DreamApply 於 2011 年在愛沙尼亞成立,是一家創新驅動的教育科技組織,致力於改善全球的教育機會。DreamApply的應用程式管理軟體 説明40個國家的300多家教育機構 改進招生、營銷、財務和其他內部流程。 

DreamApply易於使用和可定製的軟體使學生入學率提高了30%,並將申請處理時間縮短了40%。DreamApply具有與教育機構合作和為教育機構設計的功能,以及與常用系統的集成,使團隊能夠以更少的努力完成更多的工作。 

通過請求免費的個人化演示繼續探索。 

訂閱並成為第一個接收新案例研究、播客劇集、博客文章和其他EdTech資源的人。

表格 - 博客

最新教育科技新聞

更多案例研究

fbpx

News from the EdTech scene

Insights from EdTech and Pancakes: Protocols for internationalizing higher education

Mar 18, 2024 | EdTech

In episode 6 of “EdTech and Pancakes,” we hosted Professor Sebastián Bruque, a renowned advocate and consultant for internationalizing higher education as well as the Deputy Rector of Internationalization at the University of Jaén in Spain. 

We explored essential pillars for internationalizing universities, including student and staff mobility and ways to leverage innovative technologies. Additionally, we discussed the challenges and opportunities presented by nationalistic movements, varying admissions systems across the globe and the significant role technology, particularly AI, plays in transforming the admissions process. 

Protocols for internationalizing higher education

What is the essence and purpose of international education? 

“Even the word university comes from ‘universal.’ We need to have the same global perspective because knowledge is something that should be applicable to the entire humanity”, says Professor Bruque. He reminds us that international education is inherently motivated by the international economy, a force that has shaped the fabric of higher education across centuries. He adds “Especially countries in continental Europe need to rethink their systems for international applicants because in many cases they are losing thousands of international students that are very talented and can provide value for local and national economies.” 

The history and politics of internationalizing education 

The journey of internationalizing education is not only a narrative of academic and economic ambition but also a reflection of the world’s evolving political landscapes. Professor Bruque notes, “The dynamics of the economy and international politics were polarized, with the Soviet bloc on one side and Liberal Western democracies on the other, up until the end of the eighties. Consequently, everything underwent significant changes in the eighties and nineties.”   

What are the pillars of internationalizing a university? 

In discussing the critical aspects of internationalizing a university, Professor Bruque illuminates 3 fundamental pillars essential to this process: student mobility, the internationalization of staff and the significant role of technology. 

Student mobility 

The first pillar, student mobility, is highlighted as a cornerstone of international education. “The freedom of movement of students…is the most important factor we have,” Professor Bruque notes, underlining the essence of physical and online mobility in creating a truly global educational environment. This mobility is not just about crossing geographical boundaries but about fostering an exchange of cultures, ideas and knowledge that enriches the learning experience for everyone involved. 

Internationalization of staff 

The second pillar, the internationalization of staff, works in tandem with student mobility. Bringing in faculty from diverse backgrounds and expertise adds depth to the curriculum and teaching methods, introducing students to a broad spectrum of perspectives and practices. This diversity among the staff is crucial for institutions aiming to provide new knowledge, practices, and technological insights, thereby enriching the academic and social fabric of the university. 

Technological integrations 

Lastly, technology’s role as the third pillar cannot be overstated. The integration of technological advancements and online learning platforms is reshaping the landscape of higher education. “Mobility, international mobility and online mobility should be shaped and refined together with advanced technological tools,” Professor Bruque explains. This approach not only makes education more accessible but also enables institutions to offer a more personalized and engaging learning experience, preparing students for a future where digital proficiency is paramount. 

Nationalistic movements as an obstacle to internationalizing higher education 

Dr. Bruque adds that nationalistic and anti-globalization movements are another significant factor influencing the landscape of international education and posing challenges to global access to education. As these movements gain momentum, universities worldwide are challenged to navigate these complex dynamics, striving to maintain an international outlook while addressing local concerns and sensitivities. 

Centralized vs. decentralized admissions systems  

One of the crucial elements in the internationalization of higher education, as discussed by Professor Bruque, is the contrast between centralized and decentralized admissions systems. This distinction plays a pivotal role in how universities attract international students and navigate the complexities of global education landscapes. 

Centralized admissions systems, often found in continental European countries, place significant control in the hands of national authorities. While there are advantages to using national systems, they often can create significant barriers for international students due to rigid testing requirements and limited flexibility in the admissions process. On the other hand, decentralized systems often grant universities the autonomy to devise their admissions strategies, offering more adaptability to attract a diverse student body. 

Professor Bruque notes, “Internationalization is absolutely necessary for the survival of higher education institutions”. This survival is intricately linked to how effectively institutions can adapt to the demands of an international student body, something that centralized systems may hinder due to their inherent rigidity. 

Role of technological Innovation to internationalize education: 3 groups of barriers 

Innovation plays a crucial role in the internationalization of education, according to Professor Bruque. However, three primary groups of barriers can hinder this process: 

Legal and regulatory barriers 

These include national laws and regulations that govern student visas and work permits, which can vary significantly from one country to another and pose a significant challenge for international students. 

Economic and financial barriers 

The cost of education, living expenses and the financial requirements for visa applications often deter potential international students. These economic barriers are particularly pronounced in countries with high living costs. 

Technological and procedural barriers 

This group includes the challenges associated with accessing and navigating the admissions systems of international universities. Professor Bruque points out, “Technological and procedural barriers…are preventing many international students from understanding the admissions system of many international universities, thereby hindering their ability to enroll.” 

When analysing the barriers of entry, Dr. Bruque reveals that technological advancements offer the greatest ROI for universities that seek to internationalize. 

How will AI impact the future of higher education? 

According to Dr. Bruque, artificial intelligence is set to revolutionize both how students choose programs and universities, as well as the design of the admissions process. International students may not be looking anymore for bachelor’s or master’s degrees, but instead prioritize shorter and more focused courses. In this sense, AI will influence the choice of the model of education on a fundamental level, which will influence other aspects of higher education. 

Watch the full episode of EdTech and Pancakes with Dr. Sebastián Bruque

Listen to the audio version of the podcast on DreamApply’s website, Spotify or iTunes. 

About DreamApply 

Founded in 2011 in Estonia, DreamApply is an innovation-driven EdTech organization that improves access to education around the globe. DreamApply’s application management software helps more than 300 educational institutions across 40 countries to improve admissions, marketing, financial and other internal processes. 

DreamApply’s easy-to-use and customizable software increases student enrollment by 30% and reduces application processing time by 40%. With features designed with and for educational institutions, and integrations with commonly used systems, DreamApply empowers teams to get more done with less effort. 

Continue exploring by requesting your free, personalized demo. 

Subscribe and be the first to receive new case studies, podcast episodes, blog articles and other EdTech resources.

Form - Blog

Latest EdTech news

The value of CRM for higher education in 2024

CRM (Customer Relationship Management) for higher education is one of the most effective solutions to enhance student engagement, streamline administrative processes and improve enrollment rates. In this article, we’ll explore how CRM systems like DreamApply can...

More case studies